2014 Literary Awards Honor Writers


St. Norbert College student writers are honored each year at the annual Literary Awards. This year’s awards took place on April 23, in the Cassandra Voss Center.

Winners in the categories of poetry, prose and critical essay were announced. In each category, second place winners received $100 and first place winners received $300.

Dr. Laurie MacDiarmid, a professor of English and creative writing, opened the ceremony. She introduced seven seniors who read their works of prose and poetry.

Seniors Tara Lovdahl and Megan Duff read their prose pieces. Seniors Ashley Stern, Brittany Grady, Emma Riehl, Rachel Gintner and Stefanie Trinkl all read original works of poetry.

The winners in each category were announced by MacDiarmid.

The winners in the poetry category were announced first. The judges for this category were Professor Laura Neary and Dr. Edward Risden. There were three honorable mentions: Peter Dahl ‘16, Ashley Stern ‘14 and Melissa Willems ‘15. Rachel Gintner ‘14 and Fiona Lochtefeld ‘14 tied for second place. Carrie Kline ‘15 took first place.

Critical essay winners were announced next. This section was judged by Dr. Laurie MacDiarmid and Dr. John Neary. Peter Dahl and Rachel Gintner were honorable mentions. Julian Wacker ‘15 took second place, and Emma Riehl took first place.

Prose winners were announced last. This section was judged by Dr. John Pennington and Dr. Drew Scheler. Stefanie Trinkl and Brittany Grady were the honorable mentions. Gabby Zewdu-Habte ‘15 took second, and Amy Mrotek ‘16 took first place.

Colin Herzog ‘15 was named the 2014-15 recipient of the Mary McHale Wood Endowed Scholarship for Excellence in Writing. This $1000 scholarship is added to the recipient’s current financial aid package. The award is given each year in honor of Mary McHale Wood, a graduate of St. Norbert College. After her death, her family created the scholarship to continue her legacy.

MacDiarmid commented on the Literary Awards and said, “The quality and passion of St. Norbert creative and critical writers never fails to amaze me. Each year, my English colleagues and I are proud to play a small role in these talented writers’ development and to recognize their significant achievements.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s