Athlete Spotlight

Kerner SpotlightName: Jaclyn Kerner

Hometown: Antigo, WI

Class Year: Senior

Major: Biology   Minor: Chemistry

Sport: Track and Field

 

Best memory while participating in track?

There are too many good memories. It’s hard to choose just one. I would have to pick running the 4x400m relay at the Last Chance meet my freshman year and qualifying for Nationals, even though we narrowly missed going by less than a second.

What do you do to settle your nerves before a meet?

I listen to relaxing music on the bus ride to the meet (usually Enya) and then try to think very calmly. I put a lot of trust in God that he will send me on the right path. If it’s meant to be I will do it, but worrying about it won’t help any. I run best when I’m most relaxed.

What was your biggest goal heading into the season?

Every year my goal is for our team to win Conference and to qualify for Nationals in an event. This year I wanted to break 59 seconds in the 400 and then get on the qualifying list.

Favorite place to relax on campus?

My room with my best friends.

What’s your favorite on-campus meal?

Either the chicken wings or chicken dipper sandwiches

Leave a Reply

