Campus Leaders Recognized at Norbertine Awards

Norbertine Awards 2 Nobertine Awards 1 Norbertine Awards 3



The 36th annual Norbertine Leadership and Service Awards ceremony was held on Sunday, April 27. It took place in Fort Howard Theater and was hosted by the Division of Mission and Student Affairs.

At this ceremony, students, faculty, staff, student organizations and internship sites are honored for their service and leadership within the St. Norbert College community.

Students were the first to be recognized. Thirty-three students received an Exemplary Leadership Award, which are nomination-based and acknowledge the positive changes students have contributed to the college.

Next were the Awards of Distinction, in which students are recognized for specific leadership criteria. Sixteen students received these individual awards.

Following these were the internship awards. HY Connect won the Outstanding Internship Site award, and three students were recognized as outstanding student interns.

Organizations were recognized for various nomination-based awards. Winners included Ballroom Club, Dance Marathon, Alpha Xi Delta, Optimist Club, and Habitat for Humanity.

To end the ceremony, faculty and staff were recognized. Cristi Burrill received the Beloved Community Social Justice award for her work towards creating an inclusive campus community. Rachel Nagengast ’14 was a student recipient of this award. William Falk and Dr. Eric High were recognized with Educator of the Year awards.

The ceremony also included two student speakers, Maira Rodriguez ’14 and Cody Lipke ’14, who spoke about their experiences with service, communio and what it means to love one another.

Rodriguez spoke about all the different types of service she has seen during her time at St. Norbert College, saying, “I truly believe that each act of service I have witnessed is driven by our strong foundation in this year’s theme: we are a community full of love, willing to love one another in every circumstance.”

The ceremony concluded with a reception in the Hendrickson Dinning Room to allow the winners to celebrate together.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s