Here’s to the Good Times

DUNBAR

BY NICOLE DUNBAR, EDITOR IN CHIEF

 

When I moved into Sensenbrenner Hall four years ago, I had no idea what to expect from college. I was shy and did not know a single person at St. Norbert. As apprehensive as I was, I met some incredible friends right away, and over the past four years they have helped make this campus home and made my time here the best experience of my life.

The summer after my freshman year of college, I met Adam, the man who would later become my fiancé, and I became more confident and outgoing than ever. I entered my sophomore year of college with my head held high, and decided to make the most of my time here. I applied to be a copy editor for the St. Norbert Times, and this was truly one of the best decisions I have ever made.

I surprised even myself when I applied last year to be the next editor in chief of the St. Norbert Times, but was thrilled when I was offered the position. My desire to make the paper the best that it could be drove me to step up, be a real leader and overcome some of my fears. I am so appreciative of every Times staff member for their dedication to the paper. Without every one of them, my year as editor in chief could not have been so successful and rewarding.

Being a part of the St. Norbert Times has helped me grow not only intellectually, but also as a person. It has made me realize my love for journalism and my desire to pursue it in the future. It has made me aware that teamwork is one of the most important skills any college student can learn. It has also pushed me outside of my comfort zone.    I never imagined that four years could go by so quickly and as much as I like to pretend that I’m that person who won’t cry at graduation, this place has become such a huge part of who I am, and leaving will be incredibly hard.

I’m so excited for my future and everything that lies ahead. By the end of May, I will be a college graduate and I will be married to my best friend. In June, I will begin a new chapter of my life in Arkansas. I have been offered an opportunity to work as a music teacher for Teach for America, and I could not be more thrilled to begin this journey.

But as I write this reflection, I can’t help but realize that I’m leaving behind so many amazing experiences and people, and things will never quite be the same. While I pack up my belongings to leave St. Norbert College one last time, it feels as though I am packing up an amazing part of my life, and it is incredibly bittersweet.

That being said, I am immensely grateful to St. Norbert College for making me take that first step out of my comfort zone, toward becoming the person who I am today. My advice to underclassmen would be just that: Don’t be afraid to step out of your bubble and get involved. Try something new, meet new people. As terrifying as it may seem, it is absolutely worth it.

Leave a Reply

