Senior Reflection

WALLENFANG

BY SARAH WALLENFANG, HEAD COPY EDITOR

 

How does one possibly reflect on the best four years of her life in a mere 500 words? Or perhaps the better question is how does one put that into words at all? How can I compartmentalize something so entirely wonderful and personal in a way that would even come close to doing it justice? These past four years at SNC have been utterly life changing, and I wouldn’t trade them for anything. When I look back on my first-year self I can’t help being amazed at how much I’ve learned and grown, and for that I am eternally grateful.

I know that this really isn’t “the end” and that despite what my heart tells me the sun will rise on May 19 and the world will go on, yet it’s still a struggle to accept that my time as an undergrad has come to an end. This chapter in my life is over. That next August I won’t be able to call this place home. I’m going to miss my life as an English major where it is completely normal to discuss the importance of fairy tales in class or create a world inspired by Tolkien’s Middle Earth for a final project. Every class I’ve taken has given me a greater appreciation for literature and writing that I am so thankful for, and I have never once regretted choosing this path.

Beyond classes, I have had so many opportunities to get involved and find organizations that truly matter to me. My work with Colleges Against Cancer over these four years has been so inspiring and has helped me make a difference in a cause that is very near and dear to my heart. Spending this past year working on the St. Norbert Times has been more rewarding than I could have imagined. And although I only spent a semester as a member of the leadership team, for the first time in my life I really consider myself a leader. It was a life changing experience.

And, now, for the most important reason for writing this reflection: the friends I’ve made along the way. I’m not sure I would’ve believed it if someone had told me before I started my journey here that I would find a group of people that would become my second family, but that is exactly what has happened. Even though at most we’ve known each other for four years, in my heart it’s like I’ve known them forever. They have made my time here more than I ever could have hoped for. And I know that after graduation when we no longer all live within this magical world that is SNC I will miss them terribly. But I also know that we have a bond that cannot be broken by distance. So I will keep my head up and walk across that stage, knowing that my time here has truly been a blessing. Thanks for the memories, SNC.

Leave a Reply

