Actor Interview Starring Alex Gruber

Name and role in “Specter” and “Ghosting with Steve and Marta”: Norris, male lead in “Specter”; Crispin Vander Zelden, inn owner in “Ghosting with Steve and Marta.”

Grade: First-year

Major/Minor: History and Religious Studies/Spanish

Why did you choose SNC? I really appreciated the emphasis on spirituality and service at St. Norbert College, as well as the many academic and extracurricular opportunities present here. The inviting campus and community drew me to attend St. Norbert College, too.

What would your dream role be? I would have to say Tevye from “Fiddler on the Roof.” I could never pull off that role (or the beard for it), but he is such a great character, and the musical overall is amazing.

What is your favorite part about performing or working in theatre? I enjoy having the chance to create different personas in productions. Even if these characters have personalities almost completely opposite of my own, I can still find some common ground with them and express a part of myself through that character. I hope this helps other people connect with the character, too, allowing everyone to have a fuller experience of the play.

Which type of production do you enjoy working on more: musicals or plays? I prefer working in plays to working in musicals, although the two are extremely close to being tied. I (usually) do not have to worry about my voice giving out when I’m in a play, so that’s the deciding factor.

What do you like doing besides working on performances? Having the chance to work behind the scenes, in areas like painting and construction, is awesome to me. It gives me a deeper appreciation of and connection to the show, and I meet some amazing people through this work.

What are your plans for after college?  I would like to work in the archives of a library, museum, historical society, or archdiocese within or outside of Wisconsin. I would also love to write nonfiction and fiction throughout my life, and I want to stay involved in music and theatre of course!

What is your favorite candy bar?  That’s a tough one. I think I’ll go with Three Musketeers.

Interview conducted by Colin Herzog

Leave a Reply

