Student Spotlight: Cheyenne Andrus

Name: Cheyenne Andrus

Role in “Ghosting with Steve and Marta”: Marta

Grade: Sophomore

Major/Minor:  Theatre major with a Communications minor

Why did you choose SNC? I applied to St. Norbert’s with the expectation that I wouldn’t be getting in, but when I was accepted, I was really excited. It was the best of all the schools I had applied for. Also, I had heard nothing but good things from friends who attend SNC, so I trusted their (correct) judgment.

What would your dream role be? That’s a toughie. To be quite honest, it isn’t even about the role. I think my theatre dream is to be a part of a production of “Macbeth.” I am obsessed with that play, and I have so many different ideas that I would love to try out someday either in directing or costume or set design. But role-wise? I suppose Beatrice in an adapted version of “Much Ado About Nothing” would be really fun. She’s my favorite Shakespearean female character.

What is your favorite part about performing or working in theatre? The unknown. You can prepare for so many things, but I secretly kind of love it when the stress levels get high and from there, anything can happen. It’s always really fun when you can correctly stay in character even if you mess up a line or something doesn’t go quite right (like tripping on stage, for example; hey, we’ve all done it.)

Which type of production do you enjoy working on more: musicals or plays?  

That’s hard. I love doing musicals because they’re usually fun and light-hearted. But I actually am probably the worst dancer on the face of the earth. I’m like the shark with Katy Perry at the Super Bowl. And, to be honest, most of my favorite works are short plays. But I still love me some show tunes!

What do you like doing besides working on performances? I usually would laugh and respond with something like “free time doesn’t exist in theatre.” However, this last year I got a job as a barista at Kavarna, a coffee shop in Green Bay. It’s fun to be working on two things I love so much.

What are your plans for after college?  I hope to stay a barista while continuing work in theatre, probably in a larger city. Hopefully, one day, I’ll get the opportunity to work on movies. I really just want to do anything to be a part of the credits in a movie.

What is your favorite candy bar?  

ALL THE CANDY.

Leave a Reply

