Senior Reflection: Senior Times Sadness

BY JOE BARTEL

First things first, thank-yous are in order. I think it would be difficult to find a crazier, more supportive and loving family than my own. Without you guys pushing me along, I don’t think I would be writing this here today. I want to thank you for always being there for me, no matter what. The other thank-you goes out to Kayla Stuckey. I don’t think I could have imagined a better college experience, one that I could share with my best friend and my girlfriend. You are truly my motivation and inspiration each and every single day, and I thank you for pushing me along when it would have been much easier to fall.

Alright, with that out of the way, we can finally focus on the nitty-gritty!

The St. Norbert Times was something I wanted to join after I first stepped foot on campus. I loved the newspaper in high school, and I was eager to gain more experience writing in college. I had a few goals that I created upon joining the Times, all of which I am happy to say I accomplished.

What I didn’t anticipate gaining from my four years with the Times was some incredible friendships with some incredible people. It’s not that I took this place or newspaper too seriously, or that I was some grumpy curmudgeon (although give me a few years and I could teeter the line). I just never anticipated meeting such unbelievable people. Perhaps it’s a compliment to St. Norbert itself for drawing in some truly one-of-a-kind students, but each and every person who has worked or is currently working with the Times might as well be superheroes, because the work they do is just unreal.

Actually scratch that, I have seen enough Avengers in my lifetime to know that not all superheroes are incredible. What I should say is, “Each and every person who has worked or is currently working with the St. Norbert Times is amazing because they are dedicated, passionate and empowered individuals who are some of the best people I know.” Yeah, that sounds better, doesn’t it?

Seriously though, I can’t thank this staff enough. You have made my time as Editor-in-Chief wonderfully enjoyable. It’s a little heart-wrenching to say good-bye to my favorite organization on campus, but I know the Times is headed towards bigger and better things. And I cannot wait to see where it goes!

Leave a Reply

