Senior Reflection: Well, That’s All, Folks!

BY KALEY ALLARD, CO-EDITOR IN CHIEF

I can’t believe that six days after this article’s publication I will be a college graduate with a degree in English and a minor in Leadership Studies; a complete 180 from the Biology and Environmental Science double major I entered St. Norbert College with four years ago. I once envisioned myself swimming with fish on the Great Barrier Reef or saving wildlife after an oil spill, but as my first semester produced undesired results, I realized that was not the path I was to follow. I had pushed aside my passions for reading and writing in order to pursue studies which were guaranteed to yield better results.

After taking Modern British Novels with Dr. John Neary, I realized that I was wasting time being unhappy while pursuing the natural sciences. Once I decided to officially change my major to English, I knew that I needed to find an activity or organization where I could use the skills I was learning. I found the St. Norbert Times and knew that I had found a place to call home, where I could pursue my passion for journalism. I began my career on the Times as a copy editor with no copy-editing experience whatsoever, a challenge I was more than willing to accept. In each new position I pursued, I gained more information from junior and senior staff members, who introduced me to ways that I could improve and reminded me that it was okay to make mistakes. Their passion for journalism and the Times inspired me to do my best for our organization.

I had no idea that after two years on the Times I would be where I am now, serving as co-Editor-in-Chief, working with a staff full of intelligent and passionate writers, copy and layout editors and photographers. My team inspires me each and every day with their dedication to our organization, and I am lucky to have had the pleasure of watching them grow over this past year. A special shout-out to my personal therapist and co-Editor-in-Chief, Joe Bartel, for being there in times of distress at missed deadlines and in times of happiness when we actually got something right. Joe is an extremely talented writer and reporter, and I am grateful for having had the opportunity to work with someone so dedicated and passionate about journalism.

I am eternally grateful for the four years that I have spent at SNC, a time that I will cherish for the rest of my life. At this time I don’t know what the future holds for me, and, as someone who likes to plan, this brings with it much anxiety. With that said, I know that the education I have received from St. Norbert College and the journalism experience I have gained from the St. Norbert Times have made me a talented and worthy individual for whatever I pursue. I want to thank those who have helped me get to where I am today: my mother-Tammy, my grandparents-Lois and Jipper, my aunt and uncle-Juanita and Chad, my stepfather-Adam, my best friends-Tess and Alisha and my loving boyfriend-Michael

Leave a Reply

