Entertainment Student Spotlight

Name: Broderick Lemke

Grade: Sophomore

Major/Minor: Instrumental and General Music Education (K-12)

Why did you choose SNC?

The small size appealed to me, and I heard good things about both the education and the music departments.

What instruments do you play?

The main instruments I play are the baritone and alto saxophone, but I’m learning a lot of other instruments in the course of pursuing my degree.

Who is your favorite composer? Why?

My favorite composer is Percy Grainger, mainly because of the interesting harmonies that he uses in his arrangements of familiar folk songs. His works  maintain a combination of complexity and simplicity almost simultaneously that catches the ear and strings it along for the ride.

If you could perform any song, what would it be?

Right now I’m looking at a work for solo alto saxophone and piano called Fuzzy Bird Sonata. It’s a three-movement work that uses a lot of contemporary techniques on the saxophone, and I am hoping to feature it in my recital.

What do you like to do when you’re not performing or practicing?

Homework? No, but really, I spend a lot of my time in practice rooms, performing or doing homework for my non-performance classes, so when I get a bit of free time I cherish it. Most of the time I end up just relaxing with friends and watching cartoons.

What is your favorite food?

I like Salted Carmel Coffee flavored things.

Do you have any post-college plans? If so, what are they?

I plan on going to graduate school for Music Theory or Music Composition, a decision that I’ll make at a later date, because it’s already stressing me out to think about my options. Thankfully, I have an awesome professor who is helping me through the process of deciding (thanks Dr. Henson!), and no matter which path I pick I’ll be able to teach at a college someday, which I look forward to!

Student Spotlight Brody

Leave a Reply

