Student Spotlight: Lizzie Tesch

Name: Lizzie Tesch

Grade: Junior

Major/Minor: English and Music Performance (Saxophone Emphasis)

Why did you choose SNC? 

My mom attended SNC, so I’ve grown up on the campus! When I decided on English and Music, it was a no-brainer, as both programs here are excellent!

What instruments do you play?

Mainly alto saxophone, but I’ve also dabbled in the other saxophones, oboe, piano, clarinet and guitar.

What is your favorite band or musician? Why?

I listen to just about every type of music, from Bach to Pearl Jam, so it’s hard to pick a favorite, but I’m a huge fan of a small Irish group called The Enemies! In addition, my saxophone hero is Eric Marienthal, lead alto in Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band. During my senior year of High School I had the spectacular opportunity to play live with Mr. Marienthal, and it was because of that experience that I decided to become a music performance major.

If you could perform any song, what would it be?

At Epcot at Walt Disney World there’s a fireworks spectacular called IllumiNations: Reflections of Earth. I grew up with the show and the music, so it’s always been a dream of mine to perform on or direct the score to that!

What do you like to do when you’re not performing or practicing?

In between everything else going on in my life, I’m actually a Disney blogger and YouTuber, writing daily blog posts and filming two videos a week. Otherwise I love reading, movies, ABC’s “Once Upon A Time,” baking cupcakes, painting, photography and just spending time with my friends!

What is your favorite food?

A Dole Whip from Walt Disney World or Disneyland. It’s a sort of dairy-free ice cream-pineapple float and basically the most delicious thing on the planet.

Do you have any post-college plans? If so, what are they?

If it’s not already obvious, I love Disney and hope to work for the company in the future. Following my four years here at SNC, I plan on participating in the Disney College Program and then go on to pursue a career out at Walt Disney Studios in California as a part of either the music discipline or as a writer for one of the many Disney blogs or magazines.

Interview conducted by Anastasia Montavon

Lizzie Tesch

Leave a Reply

