Student Spotlight: Jessica Kust ’17

INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY ANASTASIA MONTAVON, ENTERTAINMENT EDITOR

Name: Jessica Kust

Grade: Junior

Major/Minor: Piano Performance Major

Why did you choose SNC? I sought out the specific music faculty that I knew would help me achieve my goals as a musician, and every one of the music professors at St. Norbert has taught me about different aspects of the music business.

What instruments do you play? Dr. Krueger is my main instructor for the piano, which is my primary instrument. I also play the clarinet in Wind Ensemble for Dr. Knight and take music composition lessons with Dr. Henson and voice lessons with Mrs. Feldmann.  I love to focus on the art of music in any way possible.

What is your favorite band or musician? Why? Since I am constantly immersed in music of all genres with many different instruments, I have found that I don’t enjoy any specific piece as much as I enjoy sound overall. Each individual piece began to mean less to me since I started focusing on the ultimate goal of creating beautiful sound.

If you could perform any song, what would it be? If we lived in a perfect world, there would be a song capable of moving every single audience member who heard it. If there was such a song, I would dedicate the rest of my life to learning and ultimately performing that song.

What do you like to do when you’re not performing or practicing? I find inspiration in riding my horses, kayaking and simply enjoying the company of family and friends.

What is your favorite food? I enjoy steak, pickles and chocolate milk–all in one sitting–but this doesn’t happen often enough. I am getting hungry just thinking about this.

Do you have any post college plans? If so, what are they? I want to go on to a graduate school, but I can’t seem to choose whether to pursue a master’s degree in composition, piano pedagogy or piano performance. Since many areas of music are of great interest to me, I am having trouble deciding which to let go of.

KustStudentSpotlight.jpg

Leave a Reply

