Student Radio Spotlight: Ryan Grassel ’19

INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY ANASTASIA MONTAVON | ENTERTAINMENT EDITOR 

Name: Ryan Grassel

Grade: Freshman

Major/Minor: Economics and Business Administration

Title and time slot of your program: Hip Hop Hour Wednesdays from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Why did you choose SNC? It is close to my hometown, and I agree with the idea of communio that the college pushes.

What is your favorite movie or TV show? Why? “South Park” because they aren’t afraid to say what is on everyone’s minds.  Plus, their humor is right up my alley.

What is your show about? Each week I have a different theme, and I play songs based on that theme.  I don’t play the typical hip hop played on the radio 50 times a day: I play the clean, lyrical, bangin’, and underground tracks that people don’t normally hear about.  Basically, if it sounds like the artist put some thought and time into what they are creating, it will get airplay on my show.

What’s your favorite music to play during the show?  Hip hop from the late 80s to the mid-90s. My favorite artists to play are Wu-Tang, OutKast, UGK, Kendrick Lamar and Naughty By Nature.

What is the funniest/scariest thing that’s happened during a broadcast session?  The program I use to play music crashed five minutes before a show and I couldn’t get it to work again, so I played tracks from YouTube.  It turned out alright, though, because YouTube has a great selection of clean tracks if you search hard enough.

What are your after-college plans?  I am hoping to find a low-stress career that I can enjoy for the rest of my life.

What is your favorite food?  Gyros from Gyros and Kabobs.Ryan Grassel Student Spotlight

Leave a Reply

