Student Spotlight Article: Zachary Dickhut ’19

INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY ANASTASIA MONTAVON | ENTERTAINMENT EDITOR

Name and role in “Chicago”: Zachary Dickhut, played Billy Flynn, Male Lead

Grade: First-year

Major/Minor: Political Science

Why did you choose SNC?

I picked SNC for a few reasons. First, its size. I love the class sizes and with a smaller campus, fun opportunities increase in frequency. This musical is a perfect example. The other reason is that my grandfather, Dan Dickhut, established the art department here, and I’ve always been very proud of that.

What would your dream role be?

Funny you should ask. My dream role was indeed Billy Flynn in “Chicago”. It has been my favorite musical since middle school.

What is your favorite part about performing or working in theatre?

My favorite part of performing is the bond created amongst the cast members. We all succeed by sharing our individual talents, mutual love of performing and respect for one another. When all that goes on stage at once, you are guaranteed a great performance.

Which type of production do you enjoy working on more: musicals or plays?  

That’s a tough one. There are pros and cons to both.  I would say that I enjoy musicals more.  Music and lyrics have the ability to convey emotion that acting and speaking simply cannot.  Like, in “Chicago”, the song Mister Cellophanesends a powerful message that, in my opinion, would have had a lesser effect had it simply been a two-minute monologue. Fortunately, Brian Falk performed it brilliantly in our production!

What do you like doing besides working on performances?

I enjoy hanging out with friends, especially my roommate Kieran Wallace, who was the soundboard operator for the production. I also enjoy following the elections going on (This one is particularly exciting). Other than that, I’m just your typical lazy college student who should really be majoring in procrastination studies.

What are your plans for after college?

Ideally I would like to enter state-level politics, hopefully as a state senator. My ultimate goal is to become a U.S. senator. If that path ends sooner than hoped, (or never starts…) I would like to go back to get my certificate to teach high school social studies like my father.

What is your type of cookie?

Honestly, whatever the girl scouts have left.Student Spotlight Zachary Dickhut.jpg

Leave a Reply

