One Week, Endless Options, Guaranteed Fun: Spring Break 2016

LAUREN GANTENBEIN| FEATURES EDITOR

Since the beginning of the semester, we have all been counting down to March 18: a week away from school and stress. A mid-semester break to give your mind a rest and to do whatever you want. The options on how to spend this sacred week are limitless. It may be nice to go home for a week and spend it with your family and high school friends, or a beach vacation with your roommate may be just what you need. No matter how your Spring Break is spent, it is essential to stay safe but also to have the time of your life. St. Norbert Students are spending their break in a variety of different ways:

Features_Lauren_MorganDecker

Megan Decker ’17 is spending the semester in Cork, Ireland. No fear, Ireland has Spring Break just like we do!

Where are you going for Spring Break 2016?

I am going to Belfast and Galway, Ireland. Then to the Aran Islands, off the coast of Ireland. Then to France, and possibly Germany and Austria.

How is Spring Break different in Europe than it is in the United States?

Spring break is two weeks long here, but other than that it’s pretty much the same. You just pick some place that you would really like to go and then go there.

How is travel different in Europe compared to the United States?

I would say that travel is a bit cheaper in Europe. Flights from place to place are cheaper than they are from state to state. Also, you can use the train to go from country to country, and that’s really neat. Also, traveling is a bit more relaxed in Europe than in the states.

What is your favorite travel memory from your time abroad?

My favorite memory would have to be seeing and throwing a coin into the Trevi Fountain. The fountain is so beautiful, and it was absolutely remarkable to see it in person.

What do you miss most about St. Norbert?

The thing I miss most about St. Norbert is definitely my friends. But I also really miss walking through campus, having everyone talk to you and everyone being so friendly.

Any advice for students who are interested in studying abroad?

The advice that I have would be to keep your mind open. You’re going to experience a lot of different opinions and customs than what you’re used to, as well as some challenges. But if you keep an open mind you learn so much about different cultures, other people and yourself.

Features_Lauren_ThuBui

Thu Bui ’18 is an international student from Vietnam. She will be experiencing all of the fun that a typical Spring Break in Fla. has to offer.

Where are you going for Spring Break 2016?

My friend and I are going to Orlando, Fla. for Spring Break 2016.

What made you decide on this location?

The winter months in De Pere seem like they last forever. I miss the sun, beaches and the feeling of sweat! Florida has all of them so I decided to go there.

Are you flying or driving?

I will be flying. I would love to have a road trip, but the break is not long enough for me to do that.

What are you most excited for on your trip?

One of my destinations is Disney World, and I’m really excited about it because this will be my first time going there! Being in Disney World has always been my dream, and it’s about come true.

What is your favorite travel memory?

My friends and I went on a road trip adventure on motorcycle. It was pretty challenging, as well as risky, but I have unforgettable memories from that trip.

Features_Lauren_AshleyWalther

Ashley Walther ’19 will be going to Milwaukee, Wis. to volunteer at St. Anthony School through St. Norbert’s Turning Responsibility into Powerful Service (TRIPS) program.

How did you hear about the TRIPS program? 

I heard about the TRIPS program through a friend who went to SNC. When I saw posters around campus for the TRIPS applications, I was excited to apply and get involved.

What made you decide that you wanted to go on a TRIP? 

I enjoy serving others in any way I can. During the school year this can be difficult to do since I am so busy, so being able to do service over spring break is perfect! My group is working at St. Anthony School in Milwaukee, Wis. I chose this trip because I hope to be a teacher one day, and it is a way I can serve a community in need that is close to home.

Have you ever been on a service trip before? 

This is my first time going on a service trip with the TRIPS program, but I have gone on service trips before. Last year I went on a mission trip to Nicaragua. When I was there I worked in an orphanage and helped to build a school that several mission groups had been working on. It was truly a life-changing trip!

What are you hoping to gain from your TRIP experience? 

I am not sure what I want to gain from my TRIPS experience. However, I know what I want to give. I want to give my time to the students and teachers at St. Anthony School in Milwaukee. I want to be a good example to the students I work with and show them that college is an option for their future. I also want to help the teachers I work with in any way I can so that they can have more time to give to their students.

What is your favorite service memory? 

My favorite service memory is from my mission trip to Nicaragua. I enjoyed working at the girls’ orphanage. While there my group and I danced, played soccer and prayed with the girls. Even though language was a barrier, smiles, laughter and love proved to be universal. Seeing their happiness was one of the best experiences of my life.

Leave a Reply

