Student Spotlight: Emma Philipps ’17

Major/Minor: Instrumental and General Music Education

Why did you choose SNC? St. Norbert College is a tight-knit community filled with professors that are willing to go above and beyond to give you a well rounded, liberal arts education. The music department here is an open and caring one that focuses on your growth as not only a musician but also as a person.

What instruments do you play? Saxophone is my principal instrument and the one that I study at St. Norbert College. I also play bluegrass fiddle/violin and sing.

What is your favorite band or musician? Why? Richard Wagner is my (current) favorite musician. His music expresses lots of passion in ways that I didn’t imagine possible. He seamlessly blends emotions throughout his pieces, and his music just speaks to me in a way that no other composer’s does.

If you could perform any song, what would it be? In a perfect world, I would love to someday be a part of Sergei Prokofiev’s ballet “Romeo and Juliet.” The piece is incredibly haunting and beautiful, and is one of my favorite pieces of all time.

What do you like to do when you’re not performing or practicing? When I’m not performing or practicing I enjoy spending my time outdoors. During the summer, I work at a wilderness tripping camp where I lead sea kayaking trips. I also enjoy backpacking, biking and canoeing.

What is your favorite food? I love sushi! Spicy tuna rolls are my favorite.

Do you have any post college plans? If so, what are they? I don’t have any set post college plans as of yet, but I hope to spend a year volunteering with an AmeriCorps foundation and then go on to teach in schools.

INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY ANASTASIA MONTAVON | ENTERTAINMENT EDITOREntertainment_StudentSpotlight_EmmaPhillips

Leave a Reply

