Junk Drawer: Audio Visual Miracles

ANASTASIA MONTAVON, AUSTIN VAN PAY, BENJAMIN K. PAPLHAM, SAMANTHA KOLB | ENTERTAINMENT COLUMNISTS

 Anastasia: “Dragon Slayer” by Ninja Sex Party

“Dragon Slayer” is a simple song about a man trying to impress a woman. Other guys play football or do science, but Danny slays dragons.

The music video is pretty much exactly what you would expect from the song title. It has ninjas, dragons, a unicorn, space and high quality not-in-front-of-a-green-screen special effects. This music video is perfect exactly the way it is, and it never fails to make me laugh.

Ben: “White and Nerdy” by Weird Al

Honestly, I could pick almost any Weird Al music video and say it’s my favorite because that fluffy, curly-haired man is a music genius. What I love about “White and Nerdy” is how many nerdy references are packed into a three-minute video. Here are some of them: The formula behind dancing Weird Al and Donny Osmond is Schrödinger’s equation. (Yeah, I looked it up. It makes no sense to me either.) On the Trivial Pursuit card, one of the questions listed reads, “On what page does Harry Potter die in the next book?” (Ironically, Weird Al’s song was released ten months before “Deathly Hallows”.) The “Top 8 spaces” on his Myspace are Bill Gates, Napoleon Dynamite, Mr. Peabody, Albert Einstein, Screech, Frodo, Pee Wee Herman and Tom. And my personal favorite: Key and Peele are the two “gangstas” Weird Al tries to approach at the beginning of the video.

Austin: “3005” by Childish Gambino

One of my favorite albums of 2013, “Because the Internet” from artist Childish Gambino, was accompanied by a few incredibly well done and unique music videos. One of which includes an eerie and well-shot video for the song “3005.”

The overall tone of the video and the steady-cam placement made it a unique and a quite innovative experience for a music video. Overall the song’s video is simple, yet seems to have a different meaning left up to the viewer. The video only involves a Ferris wheel spinning round and round with a steady-cam placed on our artist, Childish Gambino and his teddy bear sitting next to him. As the Ferris wheel spins, the camera pans and goes out of focus on our artist and teddy bear, only to return to them with small visual differences in the teddy bear’s look. The simplicity, uniqueness and overall look really intrigued me and kept me engaged throughout the whole video.

Sam: “Girlfriend” by Avril Lavigne 

This was one of the first music videos I saw as a wee one. I enjoyed the song, as it was spunky and spoke to my inner preteen punk. Avril Lavigne also has a theatrical element to some of her music videos, and I always enjoy a good story. I also think this was the time when Avril Lavigne began to rise in stardom, and as her popularity rose with my friend group, I decided this was an artist I could appreciate. I still do, partly for sentimental reasons and partly because I do actually appreciate her as an artist.

Leave a Reply

