And Now That I Am Done…

PETER PERNICE | HEAD OF LAYOUT AND DESIGN

I have finally made it to the end of college. Back in grade school I was told that I would never get this far because of my dyslexia. Apparently they were mistaken. This has driven me for more than half of my life. It was not easy and there were many times that I would have rather just given up than finished college. I have fought hard in my college career and I don’t want to waste your time with it all, but there are a few things that should be brought up before I walk under the arch and into the real world.

When I joined the newspaper I did so in large part because I had a lot of free time on my hands. I never wanted the responsibility of layout editor but I ended up getting drawn in. What does a layout editor do? They try, week after week to print the prefect paper, knowing that it will never happen. They give up weekends, when they could be hunting or fishing with family and friends. Then they sit and listen to people who think the font is wrong or there is too much white space. They handle it like and adult and do not call anyone a rude name no matter how badly they want to. Being the layout editor has taught me how to hear criticism more often than praise because that what comes with the job.

This last semester has been nothing but a nightmare. I wasted most of my time fighting for the last four credits that I need to graduate. I have had a lot of classes that were not an easy A. Having to work hard at it only just to scrap by, studying for hours; it was completely miserable and I am completely thankful for this. Classes like this have taught me that working hard is always going to be a part of life. Not something that you have to enjoy but something you have to learn to live with.

St. Norbert College has been my home for four years of my life. Part of me will miss St. Norbert College, but I am ready to move on to better things.  In order to save room for more eloquent senior reflections I will leave you with this, work hard and earn what you want, do not look for the easiest solution to things because I promise you, you will not enjoy it nearly as much as something you truly earned.

Senior Reflection_Peter

Leave a Reply

