Departure of an Old Soul

NATASHA GEIGER | SPORTS EDITOR

I recently found a quote on line by one of my favorite authors Malcolm Gladwell; “If you work hard enough and assert yourself and use your mind and imagination, you can shape the world to your desires.”

I’ve been sitting and contemplating how I want to write my senior reflection. I want to tell you, my fellow readers, my college life experience would be a bore but I can’t help but dive into the reason of how I ended up graduation from St. Norbert College when I never thought I would. It was a rough go, to say the least. Freshmen and Sophomore year were hard, trying to find what I wanted to do with the rest of my life was pressure enough, but trying to fit in was harder. I found myself 19 going on 45. Wanting to be an old lady and read all night. Never feeling the need to go out or be with anyone.

When I joined the St. Norbert Times as a sports correspondent, I was scared, downright scared. What would people think? How would they react? No one knew me, and that’s how I liked it. I got used to writing in sports terms and working with a great bunch of guys and thought that maybe, just maybe, writing is what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. It wasn’t until my late Grandpa Jim started reading my articles, critiquing and praising me for my writing that I knew that this is what I wanted to do with my life.

My Grandpa, my biggest supporter and fan, passed a week before Christmas in 2014. I never got the chance to tell him what I wanted to do with my life and this is why I’m doing it, at least part of the reason. Writing is and always will be my passion, whether I go into it professionally or not.

For four years, I have busted ass (excuse my language, but it’s true.) If any of you know me personally you know that I am constantly working or doing something. I tend to have a “won’t stop don’t stop” attitude in everything I do. Whether I am at work or doing school work or writing countless articles.

So here I sit. Wondering what the future will bring to me or a magic genie telling me my next move. Not that I would take its advice because I’m stubborn, go figure right?

I’d like to conjure up all the life lessons I’ve learned while spending four, very fast years in college. But let me tell you, I’ve learned the most the past two years.

Be yourself. Use your imagination. Never let people dictate what you do with your life or how you live it. It’s yours and yours alone. So live the crap out of it.

Farewell.

SeniorReflection_Natasha

Leave a Reply

