The Time Is Gone, the Song Is Over

CHRIS FRYMAN | EDITOR IN CHIEF

At this point in life, change is inevitable. Every four years for the last decade or so, like clockwork, I’ve changed schools. There has continually been a huge transition mucking up my life, and it’s been as predictable as the Brewers missing the playoffs. As I get set to make another transition into a career, I can’t help but look back on the most recent stage in my life and be just a little disappointed in what I have—or rather haven’t—accomplished.

People love to spew cheesy lines about college being the best time of your life, and while that has been true for me so far, I harbor a bit of anger at myself for not making the most out of the experience. Needless to say, I’m diffident to say that college will still be the best time of my life twenty years from now.

It’s perfectly natural to be unimpressed with something that’s given so much hype, and the folks that love to say that college is the best time of your life aren’t necessarily wrong, but they aren’t finishing their statement. To me, college isn’t supposed to be the best time of your life, it’s just the best time to experiment, and that’s why it’s been disappointing to me.

I have tried new things, honest. I started to write, which is something I had always wanted to do. I made new friends, and I found a new sport to love in ultimate. The memories I have from these things are fantastic, and I’ll look back on them fondly, but there was more that I wanted to do that I was too hesitant to try.

The thing is, this disappointment won’t last. I’m almost positive the only reason I’m feeling blue is because I’m reflecting on a moment in my life that’s about to be nothing but a memory. The things I haven’t gotten to try, they’ll still be available in the future, perhaps even more so than they are now.

Maybe the truth is just that change is always frightening. Maybe we’re so desperate to hang on to the familiar because the world is much more unforgiving outside the walls of an institution, and if going from high school to college was going from zero to sixty, then going from college to a career is going from sixty to Mach 9. As each stage of our lives pass by, the penalty for mistakes grows exponentially.

But this is just one of many boss battles in life. This isn’t the first, and it won’t be the last, nor will it be as difficult as winning the Liu Kang-Shao Kahn battle in Mortal Kombat. Life will go on, and some things will change—and some things won’t. The thing to remember is that change isn’t always bad, it’s just different. With this variation will come new opportunities, chances to find new loves, new talents. Who knows? I may even get to try something I never did in college.

Senior Reflection_Chris

Leave a Reply

