Go on a Road TRIP with SNC

SARAH KICK | NEWS CORRESPONDENT 

The TRIPS (Turning Responsibility Into Powerful Service) program on the St. Norbert College campus offers students a chance to travel the states and take part in rewarding service for themselves and other communities.

“Being a part of TRIPS has significantly impacted my college experience in a positive way. I have met so many wonderful people from campus, Wisconsin and from all over the country. It has me more aware of social injustices our society faces and what we as individuals can do to educate ourselves on these issues. It has allowed me to grow in my Catholic faith and to grow as a person. There are so many positive things about this program–I love it!” said Jenna Decker ’18, Events and Participant Relations Coordinator of the TRIPS program.

This academic year, TRIPS is offering 16 different trips to various locations across the United States, as well as one international trip to Nicaragua focusing on international medical aid. The trips throughout the states focus on different social justice issues including urban education, homelessness, poverty, HIV/AIDS and individuals with disabilities.

TRIPS is a big effort on the part of students as well as staff, as each member of the team is responsible for different aspects of the effort. The program is thus about the individual but also about being part of something bigger.

TRIPS at St. Norbert College is a part of an alternative break movement through Break Away, which  allows it to be connected to a network of 200 chapter schools.

“I would encourage other students to join TRIPS because it is something so much larger than one individual. It allows students to learn about social justice while doing service work centered around that issue. Students get to meet other students passionate about service. And, while it sounds cliché, those students you spend a week with doing service really become your family,” Decker stated.

TRIPS teaches life lessons that students can take with them throughout their lives.

“My roles in TRIPS have taught me a lot about my life and what I prioritize. I am more aware of the importance of engaging people and being present in everything I do. It has allowed for me to grow so much as a person and has allowed for me to make life-long friendships with some amazing people,” adds Decker.

For more information about specific TRIPS as well as the TRIPS program, visit http://snc.edu/trips.

pasted-graphic-9

Leave a Reply

