Student Spotlight: Emily Hacker ’18

INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY ANASTASIA MONTAVON | ENTERTAINMENT EDITOR

pasted-graphic-6

Major/Minor: Musical Liberal Arts and Psychology

Why did you choose SNC?

My mom had some friends who went to SNC, and she had always told me that it would be the perfect school for me.  I visited campus early during my senior year of high school and fell in love with the campus as I was walking through it on my tour. I always knew that I wanted to go to a small school. I loved the idea of having small classes where my professors would actually know my name.  That was something very important for me when looking for a school.

What vocal part do you sing in?

In my voice lessons I sing mezzo soprano, but in choirs I’ve always sung alto.

What is your favorite band or musician? Why?

My favorite musician is Aaron Tveit.  He is known mostly for his work on Broadway in the musicals “Next to Normal” and “Catch Me If You Can.”  He has an incredible voice and a huge range.  He can sing some notes that are in my range way better than me.  I was very lucky to go to New York with my mom to see one of his recent concerts as an early birthday present.  We’re also going to Florida to see another one of his concerts, and I can’t wait!

If you could perform any song, what would it be?

I had a really hard time answering this question, but I would love to perform any song from the musical “Wicked.”  I’ve seen it five times, and it gets better every time.  The one song in there that I would really like to sing is “As Long As You’re Mine.”  It’s my favorite song in the show, and I love the orchestration of it and the harmonies between the characters Fiyero and Elphaba.  I would love to play Elphaba some day.

What do you like to do when you’re not performing or practicing?

When I’m not singing or playing piano, I’m usually reading or spending time with my friends and family.  I have a lot of reading to do for classes, so it’s really nice when I can read something for fun.  I love spending time with my friends and family because it helps me to relax and focus on things other than work or school.  My family plays a lot of games and sees shows in Milwaukee whenever we can, so I always have a fun time when I go home for the weekend or for breaks.

What is your favorite food?

I love fruit and dark chocolate.  Fruit dipped in chocolate is an extra bonus.

Leave a Reply

