Student Spotlight: Benjamin K. Paplham ‘18

INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY ANASTASIA MONTAVON | ENTERTAINMENT EDITOR

Role in “Stop Kiss”: George

Major/Minor:  Double majoring in English with a Creative Writing Emphasis and Theatre Studies and a minor in Communication Studies.

Why did you choose SNC? 

All three of my older siblings went to SNC, so I was very familiar with the campus community and the academic aspect. I also live in De Pere, so I save a LOT of money by commuting.

What would your dream role be?

Edmund Tyrone from “Long Day’s Journey Into Night” by Eugene O’Neill

What is your favorite part about performing or working in theatre?

I love how it continuously challenges you to redefine yourself. Whether it’s developing a character, building a set or researching contextual information, theatre pushes you to interact with people and the world from a variety of angles.

Which type of production do you enjoy working on more: musicals or plays? 

Plays, because my singing makes babies cry and my dancing is like watching Magikarp trying to attack another Pokémon.

What do you like doing besides working on performances?

I enjoy writing plays and short stories. I also spend way too much time watching anime, cartoons, sports, fantasy series and psychological thrillers.

What are your plans for after college?  

I’m considering applying to graduate school for creative writing, but if that doesn’t happen, then I will look into editing or theatre companies in a city like Minneapolis or Chicago.

What is your favorite candy bar? Butterfinger

 

Leave a Reply

