Student Spotlight: Nick Carncross ’17

INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY ANASTASIA MONTAVON | ENTERTAINMENT EDITOR

pasted-graphic-7

Major/Minor: Music Performance, concentration in trumpet

Why did you choose SNC?

I applied to another school and at the time of my visit to the first I was mildly impressed with the facilities. But then I toured St. Norbert and met the faculty I’d be spending most of my time with, and I was just taken aback at how awesome everyone was. On top of the faculty being very welcoming, I also found the campus to be very beautiful and I enjoyed walking around it on my tour. Overall, SNC was very welcoming and as someone who was going into music (at one time music education) the school’s reputation of delivering a quality education proved to be true.

What instruments do you play?

Trumpet is my main instrument, but I also play trombone and guitar.

What is your favorite band or musician? Why?

This is a confusing question because I have no favorite: it depends on how I feel on a specific day, because I am a fan of a lot of musicians and musical genres. I love jazz, classical, rock, funk and metal genre; each of them have bands or musicians that I really enjoy, but there are so many that I have yet to discover. At this time I have two favorite bands: Trombone Shorty and Snarky Puppy. These guys fall into different sub-genres of jazz.

If you could perform any song, what would it be?

I’ve been listening to the album “The Word is Out” by the Jaco Pastorius big band and the track “Beaver Patrol” on it really grooves. It’s a piece I think anyone could really groove to.

What is your favorite food?

I love chicken: I don’t care if it’s fried or grilled; it’s just so tasty. I love it in salad, as a sandwich, in chicken wings, and as the grilled pepperjack special at Phil’s. I also enjoy burgers and bacon.

Do you have any post-college plans? If so, what are they?

I will eventually go to grad school but the when isn’t decided yet. I’m going to be auditioning for the military bands (no specific branch yet) and do a term or two there until I’m ready for graduate school. But as long as I’m making money and playing my trumpet, I will be happy.

Leave a Reply

