Student Spotlight: Caimyn Lutze ’17

INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY ANASTASIA MONTAVON | ENTERTAINMENT EDITOR

Major/Minor:  Graphic Design (Major), Communication Media Studies (Minor), Business Administration (Minor)

Why did you choose SNC? Coming from a fairly small high school, I wanted to choose a college where I would get to know my peers and professors well and where I wasn’t “just a number.” I think I chose well!

What is your favorite movie or TV show?  Why? “How I Met Your Mother” – The cast has such great camaraderie, and the actors are absolutely hilarious. I always neglect to think their quick wits have anything to do with the written script.

What is your favorite piece you’ve done so far? This is a tough one! I’d say one of my favorite pieces is a branding design I created for my favorite coffee shop. I turned the name of the shop into a coffee cup!

Who or what is your biggest inspiration?  A long-standing inspiration of mine has been both of my parents. I am influenced by my mom’s photography and my dad’s eye for visual cleanliness and organization. Lately, I have also found inspiration in Jessica Hische, an outstanding lettering artist.

What do you like doing besides creating art? I enjoy playing the piano, playing various sports (soccer, volleyball, basketball) and playing board games with my family.

What are your plans for after college?  I am currently in the process of getting my foot in the door to gain more experience working for clients and collaborating with others in the graphic design field. Ideally, I think it would be nice to eventually have a design business of my own.

What is your favorite music to listen to while creating?  Anything that makes me happy in the moment! Recent favorites include John Denver, Luke Bryan Radio, Destiny’s Child, The Eagles and All Time Low. Clearly my genres are a little unrelated.

Leave a Reply

