Student Spotlight: Katie Hopkins ’17

INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY BENJAMIN K. PAPLHAM | ENTERTAINMENT EDITOR

Name: Katie Hopkins

Grade: Complicated. It’s my second year at SNC with another two to go, but I spent nearly two at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities.

Major/Minor: I’m double majoring in Art (Studio Art Track) and English (Creative Writing Emphasis).

Why did you choose SNC? SNC came into the picture when I was looking to come back to school. I took some time off to adjust to a serious and unexpected diagnosis of Type 1 Diabetes, but when I was ready to pick up my education again, I knew I wanted to be somewhere close to home. SNC is about as close as I can get since I’ve lived nearly all of my life in De Pere. Choosing to attend SNC has been one of the greatest decisions of my life; it’s been the ideal place to grow my mind.

What artwork are you currently working on? I’m currently deep in the process of creating a self portrait for Intermediate Painting. It explores the topic of digital identity and I’m particularly focusing on the difference between a self portrait and a selfie. I’m taking inspiration from my own Instagram feed as well as Snapchat filters to create a piece that’s not too serious, but rather pokes fun at today’s selfie culture.

What is your favorite piece you’ve done so far? I don’t know if I have a favorite piece. Whatever I’m working on at the moment tends to be at the forefront of my mind, but I do have particularly fond memories of creating a book for my grandparents filled with illustrations I did for Inktober—an initiative started by illustrator Jake Parker to get artists to create ink drawings everyday in October.

Who is your favorite artist? My favorite artist? That’s like asking a parent to choose a favorite child! Well, that’s maybe being a bit too dramatic. If I absolutely had to choose, I would pick Claude Monet as my favorite artist of the past. The way he plays with color and light on the canvas keeps me continuously engaged in his work, and I have a secret aspiration to visit his gardens in Giverny, France. However, I would have to identify Chris Ayers as my favorite currently working artist. A fellow Green Knight, Ayers is a successful character designer and I find his caricatures of animals particularly humourous. He’s one of my biggest inspirations today, and through his work I began to find the confidence to become an artist myself.

What do you like doing besides creating art? Besides creating art, I love watching movies. They’re one of my favorite things in the world and  I’ve been infatuated with them since I was a kid. January and February are particularly exciting months for me because I get to indulge in my guilty pleasure—award shows!

What are your plans for after college? I’ve not decided what I want to do post-college, but I know I’ll want to eventually get a job where I can create art, or work with it everyday. I may go on to receive further education in a graduate program, not only to refine my artistic abilities, but also to keep open the possibility of teaching at the collegiate level.

If you could have a film made about you, what would it be called and who would play you?  Oh gosh, naming a movie about me…that’s a tough one. First some context: art undeniably seems to be my calling, but being an artist was never on my radar until about two years ago, and I came into art quite by accident. It’s taught me that trying to plan out life is a fruitless endeavor, because you can never account for  all of the possibilities waiting for you out there that are better than anything you could ever imagine. So I would name my movie Unintelligent Design, and Emma Watson would play me. That’s not even a question. It’s Emma. Watson.

Leave a Reply

