Junk Drawer: Best Movie Universe to Live In

ANASTASIA MONTAVON, AUSTIN VAN PAY, BENJAMIN K. PAPLHAM, SAMANTHA KOLB | ENTERTAINMENT COLUMNISTS

Anastasia: The Lego Universe

Why live in one fictional universe when you can live in several of them simultaneously? Lego owns the rights to pretty much every major franchise—Harry Potter, Star Wars, Batman, and so much more! The Lego Universe offers as many opportunities as you can imagine. Want to go to space? If there isn’t a spaceship around, build one! The world around you is at your disposal to easily take apart and reassemble however you want! Technically speaking, so is our world, but that’s not exactly recommended. Sure, there are some downsides. Like changing clothes, for instance. Want a new outfit? Okay! Just pop off your body and put your head on this one. Want a new haircut? No problem! Just remove the top part of your head and attach a new hairstyle. Will this raise some philosophical questions about the identity of the self that I don’t want to deal with? Probably! But I can’t imagine a better universe than one where stepping on Legos isn’t just painless, it’s a way of life.

Austin: Star Wars

This wasn’t an easy decision by any means, but after really thinking through my list, I would have to say the “Star Wars” universe is where I would love to live. With amazingly advanced technology, great characters I’d love to meet, and the opportunity to use a lightsaber, I just couldn’t pass it up. Also, the thought of cruising along on a speeder is very appealing. Jumping to light-speed in my ship to a distant planet would be pretty great as well. Most importantly,  for me as for many other people,“Star Wars” has a special place in my heart. It has great moments of peril, but those moments are shared with great people. I mean, come on. Who wouldn’t want to be in a perilous situation with your best buddies Han Solo and Chewbacca?

Ben: Lord of the Rings

I remember seeing “Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring” (2001) at the movie theatre and being wholly captivated. Since then, it has always been my fondest dream to sing with the Elves in Rivendell, or to mine with the Dwarves under the Lonely Mountain, or talk with the Ents in Fangorn Forest (okay, maybe not that because it would take too long!). Words cannot express the wonder of Tolkien’s universe. Yes, there is extraordinary danger from orcs, and balrogs and dragons, but those elements make the world feel more real; they make visiting Hobbiton or Gondor that much more treasured.

Samantha: Marvel

I would love to be able to go to the Marvel Universe. It hosts some of my favorite heroes, and due to radioactive spiders and the mutant gene, there is a possibility I would become a hero myself. I would hope for powers that don’t require me getting bit by one of the more creepy arachnids, but you take what you can get I suppose. Yes, there are nasty things like aliens and the bad guys are even more terrifying than some of the villains we have in the real world, but having things like The Avengers and multiple universes kind of makes up for that. It’s all about balance, and about not living in large cities, because those areas are usually targeted first in a massive invasion.

Leave a Reply

