Student Spotlight: Samuel Joski ’18

INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY BENJAMIN K. PAPLHAM | ENTERTAINMENT EDITOR

Major/Minor: Computer Science with a minor in English

Why did you choose SNC? St. Norbert College was not on my radar in high school. I wanted very much to go to a UW school, and was very close to registering at Steven’s Point. However, a paper application for SNC came in the mail in November of my senior year of high school. I don’t know why I filled it out; I never expected to go there. Fast forward, I was accepted and offered financial aid very comparable to Steven’s Point. I have always felt more at home in the Green Bay area and ultimately decided I wanted to go to college closer to home than not.

What instruments do you play? I play saxophone in the SNC Concert band. I have played since the fifth grade, and have loved the exposure to the music I have encountered since then. I also play guitar and piano, but unlike saxophone I don’t read music for those instruments. Everything I learned on those instruments has been by ear.

What is your favorite band or musician? The Beatles. I dived into their music in early high school, and despite listening to them to the point where I could probably tell you the name of a song based only on Ringo’s drumming, I never get sick of their music. They were such a creative group who dived into a wide variety of styles, I don’t think another rock group will ever quite reach their importance to popular music.

If you could perform any song, what would it be? If I had the ability to perform any song, I would love to be able to sit down and play some ragtime songs on piano. I love listening to Scott Joplin. My grandmother used to play The Entertainer for my cousins and me when I was young. The Maple Leaf Rag is one of my favorites.

What do you like to do when you’re not performing or practicing? I spend a lot of my time with my close friends, listening to music, watching a good show or getting into some video game. Exciting, right?

Do you have any post-college plans? If so, what are they? I don’t have plans surprisingly. I hope to find decent employment after graduation, but am optimistic that there will be new adventures in my future. I would love to have the opportunity to travel more.

If you could have lunch with anybody from history, who would it be? I would love to have lunch with Harrison Ford. From watching him in interviews in the past few years, he seems to be such a grumpy and sarcastic yet comedic old guy. He seems to have a wonderful personality, and who could say no to a lunch with Indy?

Leave a Reply

